Pangaea Express: Saskatchewan moves from 12 Regional Health Authorities to 1

December 12, 2017

By Suzanne Solman

On December 4, 2017, Saskatchewan officially transitioned from 12 Regional Health Authorities (RHAs) into one (1) Saskatchewan Health Authority. Proclamation of the Health Authority Act legally transfers the operations and employees of the 12 former Regional Health Authorities to the Saskatchewan Health Authority. This is a consolidation of administration, not a centralization of services, with the goal to better co-ordinate between the health services provided in different areas of the province by increasing efficiencies and reduction in the duplication within the health system.

The Saskatchewan Health Authority head office will be located in Saskatoon, with a single Board of Directors with senior management in Regina, Prince Alberta and Moose Jaw as well as other major communities across the province. The Saskatchewan Health Authority will be the largest organization in Saskatchewan, employing more than 44,000 employees and physicians responsible for the delivery of high quality and timely health care for the entire province. The estimated potential savings associated with amalgamation are in the range of $10 - $20 million by 2018 - 19. The coming months will bring standardization in programming and services, through amalgamation from 12 public websites to the new Saskatchewan Health Authority website.

Interesting as many are moving to more regionalization, Saskatchewan is taking the opposite approach with centralizing. It will be interesting to see if the delivery of health care becomes more efficient and if they achieve their savings target.

For more information, please contact Suzanne Solman, Director, The Pangaea Group.